• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Things Customers Have Said Which Made You Want to Roll Your Eyes

GunkMag

Hi everyone! So thrilled to become a part of what seems to be such an exciting community! 

My name is Adam, and I'm a London-based part-time baker while concurrently finishing a degree in journalism. 

As a part of my degree, I'm working on Gunk, a food magazine with no recipes and I wonder if you'd be willing to help me by sharing your experience. 

Inspired by my own experience of the past year working in hospitality industry, what Gunk does is simply admitting that cooking is not an island of happiness, as many portray it to be, but rather a long and messy business. It's about the grub, the grit, and the gross behind the scenes, yet without the attempt to turn oneself into a martyr. 

Because, don't get me wrong, I love what I do, and I can't see myself doing anything else, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who happens to have days when I feel fed up with everything; and especially with customers who sometimes seem to be taking the piss. 

Days when they ask you to cut a piece of quiche into three equal parts, days when they want to know if the oil drizzled on top of an avocado toast is cold pressed organic or days when you're asked if a cheddar and green onion toastie can be made without green onion. 

And I wonder if any of you have experienced such moments which you'd be willing to share with me. It can be anything, really - from an overheard conversation of customers which made you want to roll your eyes to the most piss-taking requests on orders. It'll be completely anonymous so, please, feel free to let loose.