• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Ramsay's fashion nightmare

ryangary

I loved wearing those short-sleeved vests back when I was a chef. Mind you I was a pastry chef, so there was little chance of burns. I hated the long-sleeved vests, they were hot, heavy and I spent half my day rolling up the bloody sleeves.

I say way to go Gordo!

Well, unless your chef's jacket's long sleeves are subtly hiding a layer of Dupont Nomex heat/fire-resistant cloth, I doubt you'll get that much protection from a spill or a hot stove/pot from a layer of cotton ... and I suppose FDA/USDA/NY Food ispectors might care what sleeve length you choose if you have hairy arms ....

... and I'm sure now that the NYT has pointed it out, discerning NYers will inquire, before they ask to see the menu, or know what the specials are, or even whether the restaurant even takes credit cards, "does the chef wear a Ramsey?" ... the sine qua non for whether the food is any good.

If Gordon Ramsey eats the NY restaurant scene's lunch (and dinner), it will be because of the quality of his food, not what's on the "runway" in the back of the house. Paris knows enough to separate couture from cuisine ... maybe Manhattan should learn ...

... so, inquiring minds want to know ... does he wear boxers or briefs ... V neck or ... "nothing at all" :biggrin::biggrin:

JasonZ

Philadelphia, PA, USA and Sandwich, Kent, UK