• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Food Styling for the home chef

thecuriousone

Hi All-

I am a passionate home cook. I want my food to look gorgeous as much as the next person, probably more so. My question however is whether its realistic to expect my food to look like the pages of the cooking magazines.

I raise this question because in the November 06 Gourmet, Ruth Reichl speaks to what is involved in creating the yearly thanksgiving article. She speaks of the "several" turkeys that "auditioned" for the final picture. There were several references made to the "food stylists". I look at my copy and wonder, "Darn, why cant I get my turkey to look like that" never thinking that it took them 15 turkeys to get there. There is a picture of a chestnut parsnip puree that does not look appetizing at all in the picture, but I have to admit I wondered, "Gee, how did some real food sneak through?"

Should I view the the pages of cooking magazines as the "Runway couture" that is never meant to be copied to everyday use as shown? Another example is the salad created by Alfred Portale and highlighted in the Gotham City cookbook. I've never gotten it to work at home.

I continually strive to hone my skills, stocks and braises come out pretty well, if not as shiny as what I see in the mags. And my food tastes good. Should that be enough? Am I just chasing a dream that no home cook catches or should I just book myself in the next cooking school slot?

I love that course.