• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Golf-themed wedding cake

Darcie B

A friend's sister asked me to make her wedding cake. They were getting married in the golf clubhouse and played a lot of golf, so they asked for a golf-themed wedding cake. I discussed it with her and came up with the following. I wanted to make the "water hazard" cakes irregularly shaped like real ones, but I ended up running out of time (to reiterate, I'm not a pro, and couldn't take time off to make the cake, and as usual underestimated how long it would take). It turned out OK, but I would appreciate suggestions on how I could have improved it. I think the large golf ball on top is too big, but I didn't have any other size round pans except for the small ones, and the bride didn't want the top ball to be that small (I think it would have been the perfect size.)

(please excuse the poor photos. my camera sucks and I'm not much better)

golfcake.jpg

golfcake7.jpg

Heh, I love the grass! Are the golf balls just regular cake, or was marzipan or something also used? The big golf ball on top seems like a difficult shape for just regular cake.

The golf balls are just regular cake with a butter/confectioner's sugar icing. The larger one was a bit unwieldy, but held together fine.

I absolutely love it. I don't know what you would want to improve. You did an awesome job. It has character and charm and is well balanced with the extra hazards and all the little ball cakes sitting around. It's adorable.

Way cool!

And making ball cakes will give PROS a migraine. You did GREAT.