• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Bread in half the time?

chefpeon

Ok, so I have a pretty extensive background in artisan bread baking. I'm a blissful bread baker who enjoys the zen I feel with my doughs and the satisfaction I get from kneading, proofing and baking the old fashioned way. I'm a real purist and have always been taught that good bread baking depends on judgement, patience and experience more than anything else.

I answer baking questions on a volunteer basis at AllExperts.com. I get ALL SORTS of inquiries, from complete novices to other pros. I just recently got a question from a lady who makes her whole wheat bread on a food processor and was wondering why, after kneading the bread on her food processor for only 60 seconds using the metal blade, her breads always had this giant tunnel in the upper third of the loaf. My experience told me it was probably very underkneaded and the underdeveloped dough did not create the webby matrix in which to trap the yeast gases and instead created the giant tunnel because no webby matrix existed.

That's my best guess anyway. She then replied that she had this book called, "Bread in Half the Time", and it was about using food processors, bread machines, and microwaves (MICROWAVES???) :huh: to make bread from start to finish in under 90 minutes.

I'm a purist, but I'm not going to close my mind to new ideas and technology. Once I get that mindset, I might as well quit the biz, you know? So, my question is, has anybody tried this stuff?