• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

catering a wedding and I'm no pro

Live It Up

Soo... one might be correct to assume that I am crazy, but I have decided that in addition to working 7 days a week for no money, I should take on catering a wedding for 60 people. Actually, this was all decided months ago, but the wedding is fast approaching so I am really starting to sweat. I have no professional training in cooking (although I am a certified food handler) but this is not the first wedding I've catered: I did my own last year, which I posted about on the wedding food thread. Anyway, for my wedding everything was made ahead and served room temperature. This one is much more ambitious as there will be hot food, as well as many assembled bite sized items. The menu is:

smaller items:

roasted fingerlings with caviar

gougeres

duck prosciutto

bacon wrapped enoki mushrooms

salads in endive leaves (hazelnut shrimp, eggplant jam, chickpeas with tapenade)

more substantial finger food items:

mini empanadas

beef on palmiers with pesto

wild mushroom puree in frico cups

chickpea fritters

big platter/bowl items:

beets with herbed goat cheese

spiced roasted cauliflower

grilled salad

scallop ceviche with melon

roasted asparagus with shaved parmesan

big platters of heirloom tomatoes with nice olive oil