• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Italian bakeries and delis in Chicago area

I read the recent post regarding the explosion of Italian restaurants ("Italian epidemic" I believe it was titled) in the city of Chicago, and found it pretty interesting. I am originally from the Northern New Jersey area (think Sopranos) where Italian restaurants and food shops are abundant, to say the least, so I guess I'm not too surprised.

I've been a proud Chicago resident for the last 4 years though, and I am curious what those who are fond of Italian flavors and foodstuffs would want, expect, and look for in an Italian-inspired specialty store and deli...possibly in the South Loop area of Chicago. I'd appreciate your honest opinions and input.

Thanks,

John Asbaty

That's a tough question to answer and I expect you'll get a number of suggestions.

Freshly baked artisan breads are always a priority. You don't need to bake them yourselves. Get them daily from Fulton Street Baking Company and/or Red Hen Bread and you'll have happy customers.

Fresh and frozen sausages, ravioli of various types; a variety of fresh and frozen sauces (pomodoro, tomato cream, white cream, both red and white clam, etc.).

Super-fresh and very high quality produce items are tough to keep in stock, but it would separate an operation from all of the other Italian specialty stores that carry many of the high-quality but ubiquitous cheese, sausage and antipasti that most better delis carry.