• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Seasonal Beers

BigFeaster

We all love beer. Who doesn't? I have my favorite staple beers like pilsner urq. and such, but i came across this seasonal beers list (I guess for summer) on novusvinum.com, a wine website of all places. Some of these look pretty good, but I have no personal experience with them nor do I know where to pick them up, either in NY or LA. Are they only available for one season? What's the best season...Can anyone tell me what's so special about these seasonals and point me to the best one and in the right direction for a store?

www.novusvinum.com/beer/features/top10summer_beers.html

Thanks!

BigFeaster

Nope... they're all available year round.

The Dogfish Head should be in countless NYC delis... the Saison Dupont is at the very least on dba's menu, and should be available in a few delis. 3 Floyds stuff I've seen in PA, but never in NYC. The Boon is in NY, can't name a deli off the top of my head that has it... but it's there. The Hoegaarden and Jever are everywhere... etc... Take a trip to dba (1st Ave b/t 2nd and 3rd Sts in NYC) and you'll get to try most of that list.

Look and ye shall find.

As to what makes them seasonal? They're almost all tart and refreshing, like boozy lemonade, but with all kinds of microbial complexity backing the tartness up. Either that, or they're good light lagers you've likely not heard of.

Edited by cdh (log)

Christopher D. Holst aka "cdh"

Learn to brew beer with my eGCI course

Chris Holst, Attorney-at-Lunch