• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Tea "espresso" machine

Hi All!

I'm new to this section of eG (usually hang with the P&B crowd).

Does anyone know of a machine, (home or commercial) dedicated to solely making tea lattes? I was in Vancouver earlier this month and there's a tea shop in West Vancouver called the Urban Tea Merchant that has such a machine. According to them, the only one being used in the country.

Thanks

Sounds like all that would be required would be a milk frothing device. You certainly don't want to put most tea through the espresso pressure brewing treatment.

There are toys out there that heat and froth milk, like this frothy thing.

I can't imagine a more expensive or complicated machine making a better drink. Tea is best brewed manually, milk is impossible to froth right manually... so get a machine that froths the milk.

Christopher D. Holst aka "cdh"

Learn to brew beer with my eGCI course

Chris Holst, Attorney-at-Lunch

Thanks CDH. After much searching online, I haven't found this so-called tea latte machine. Maybe they were just pulling my leg.