• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Paco Jet Probs

arpege

Hi everyone..

I have been playing with a Paco Jet for a couple of months and have had great success with making sorbets. The consistency is amazing when you get the temps right.

The problem that I have encountered is with ice creams. I have tried a few different recipes but mainly go with Giardet's recipe for caramel and vanilla. The problem is when I pacotize.. they turn so soft that they are unservable. I have to put into a container and refreeze them. I thought that too much sugar might be the culprit but I have tried reducing the amounts with no luck.. It is very hot in our kitchen, which compounds the problem. If anyone has any advice, I appreciate it!

ty,

arpege

The air valve notwithstanding, I was able to work with a Paco for awhile and these were things I noticed.

I was in a very hot envior too so...

You should Paco your ice creams before service so they have some time to reset to get that perfect creamy texture.

We had a big ice cream freezer that you reach down into that was damned cold and would vent the top at service to keep it from getting too cold.

Worked very well.

The Dulce de leche ice cream we did was very soft, once it was processed, probably because of the high sugar content.

Maybe it's the same for your Caramel I/C?

My advice would be to Paco the whole beaker before service and let it set back up.

Good Luck!

Edited by tan319 (log)

2317/5000

Thanks to everyone for the replies..

I have tried holding the air valve and it didnt do much..