• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Slow Food Master Italian Cooking

Hi all,

I am new to the eGullet site and noticed that Ore's posts about his experiences in Jesi, Italy during the Slow Food Master Italian Cooking Program generated much interest and enthusiasm.

I too have completed the program, and have just returned from Jesi. I kept a journal of my time there. Until I figure out how to transfer my livejournal to eGullet you may view my journal at:

Slow Food Master Italian Cooking Journal

Ciao!

Most people throw this away; we eat it!--Chef Peppe Zullo
Edited by Mark Antsel (log)

Ciao Hathor,

Thanks for viewing my journal. I am not currently at a stage, but I plan to return in June '07 for two months, perhaps to Sicily and Emilia-Romagna.

I hope my journal brings back fond memories of Jesi for you!

Thanks for posting this, I have been thinking of taking some courses at ICIF in Costigliole but my schedule won't allow the time (not to mention my budget) and since I am not looking for a career in the restaurant business (been there done that) and I am at that funny old age where I would probably feel a little uncomfortable in a class full of 20 year olds.... "Oh look a dinosaur with a toque!" or "Aren't you a little old to be trusted with sharp objects grandpa?"

So, I have been spending time in the kitchens of my Italian friends and their mothers. It is surprising what you can learn from them. Not exactly something one could put on a CV but I would have to say it is almost as interesting as a cooking school.

Still, those diaries look so inviting!