• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Sharing Recipes

SweetSide

I'm new at the pastry biz, and I'm starting to pick up a decent amount of business making cakes on the side.

In the past, when I was just another person who brought goodies to the office, I never had a problem sharing my recipes. However, now that I make money off of them, I'm hesitant to share the ones that can't readily be found. I don't mind sharing in eGullet because you all aren't potential clients and by sharing we (well, mostly me) all learn from each other.

For those of you who are professionals, when do you share recipes and when don't you share?

Cheryl, The Sweet Side

From a business prospective I wouldn't share anything that gives you (a) a competitive edge, (b) differentiates you from other cake makers © could be a new and innovative method /ingredient (which could be patentable)

i pretty always share. ultimately, we all tend to fuss and fidget with recipes pretty regularly...even our tried and true ones. so we don't have to communicate ALL the adjustments or additions we use for each recipe, right?

also, what is the likelihood that someone is actually going to make your recipe? i think some people just ask as their way of complimenting your work...i look at all of the cookbooks i have from famous chefs from which i have never made a recipe (and note that i am a food professional).

ultimately, it is up to you to share or not, but in my opinion it just isn't too big of a deal. with that said, i do understand your point of view.