• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Do I need a chinois?

jgm

I've been contemplating getting a chinois for a couple of years now. And as my cooking skills (and sense of adventure) increase, I run into situations more and more where one could be used.

So I'm watching Alton Brown's program a week or two ago, and he's straining stuff through a large strainer lined with cheesecloth. And he says, point blank, that a cheesecloth-lined strainer will do everything a chinois will do, for a fraction of the price... and storage space. Storage space is a major issue for me. If I get one, I think it will have to live in the garage.

I can understand that the mesh of a chinois is much stronger than that of a strainer, and will withstand pressure as one is trying to strain out as much liquid as possible. I'm unsure of whether I would ever have the need to press THAT hard.

Comments? Suggestions?

I couldn't do without my chinios. It is easier than fooling around with cheesecloth and other strainers etc. Although I have been know to do the final strain through cheesecloth in the chinios....

Barbara Laidlaw aka "Jake"

Good friends help you move, real friends help you move bodies.

If you can afford it, get one. You won't regret using the space it'll take up to store it.

Marsha Lynch aka "zilla369"

Has anyone ever actually seen a bandit making out?

Uh-huh: just as I thought. Stereotyping.

You also have to understand Alton's perspective (or mantra, actually). He doesn't recommend purchasing good-for-only-one-function gadgets for the kitchen since they take up precious room and are used for only one thing. He prefers gadgets that have more versatility.