• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Keeping a Diary

rich

In reading the February issue of Bon Appetit, I came across an interesting tidbit. On the back page (not cover), the magazine runs a monthy Q&A with a celebrity, asking culinary questions. This month a writer was featured. The question was about how much entertaining is done at home.

The women (forget her name) replied and in the answer stated her husband kept a diary of every meal they served to guests. It listed the names of guests and what they were served.

I found this interesting because I've been doing this for three years. It started because at one dinner someone commented on how flavorful the soup was. Another guest said "...it may be better than the last time you made it." I was totally embarrassed. I would always trust my memory to never serve the same thing to the same person. But when you do three to four dinner parties a month, the memory begins to get overworked.

After that night I decided to start a diary, which would list the dishes I served, who was ther, the date, the recipe source if any and the wines served. Now every time I have guest over I check their entries, making sure I do no repeats (unless specifically requested - I have people who have made repeat requests and I try to accommodate).

Does anyone else do this? I also list all the dishes I prepare for the holidays (Chirstmas, Easter, Mother's Day, Kentucky Derby etc.) so not to repeat except for some things that have become traditions.

It's also fun to pull out on occasion and make note of the things made - to check in which direction your culinary skills are headed.

Rich Schulhoff