• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Egyptian Recipes

Im a culinary student at Le Cordon Bleu in Minneapolis, Mn. I'm looking for some egyptian reciepes that someone would be willing to share. If you could that would be great. I'm actually trying to find some reciepes from the past, like peasant food. Thanks! :cool:

Roberto -- Welcome to the board :smile: I do not cook and have no Egyptian recipes. However, note that Emile Jung of Le Crocodile in Strasbourg had an Egyptian theme to his celebration of the 30th anniversary of the restaurant. I believe the menu consisted of French cuisine dishes; however, there were subtitles and other Egyptian aspects to that evening. Jung and his wife also travelled to Egypt. Sadly, shortly following the celebration, Jung lost his third Michein star. :wink:

Below is a link to certain photos:

http://www.au-crocodile.com/F/index/index_..._rencontre.html

There's a great article on the essence of Egyptian cooking in Issue #54 of The Art of Eating. ("A Kitchen in Upper Egypt.")

http://www.artofeating.com/back.htm

Steven A. Shaw aka "Fat Guy"
Co-founder, Society for Culinary Arts & Letters, sshaw@egstaff.org
Proud signatory to the eG Ethics code
Director, New Media Studies, International Culinary Center (take my food-blogging course)

Hi Roberto,

can you be a little more specific on what your looking for?

The history of Egyptian food and culture very old and complex.

Turnip Greens are Better than Nothing. Ask the people who have tried both.