• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Favorite cookbook or style of cooking

Good Morning Ms Reichl,

I am just a home cook who likes to play around and enjoy food. I was wondering what your favorite cookbook is and what style of cooking do you prefer?

Thank you!

Edited by jogoode (log)

"i saw a wino eating grapes and i was like, dude, you have to wait"- mitch hedburg

Good Morning Ms Reichl,

I am just a home cook who likes to play around and enjoy food. I was wondering what your favorite cookbook is and what style of cooking do you prefer?

Thank you!

I'm pretty much a home cook myself. I don't believe that homes should be like restaurants, and I don't attempt to do much cheffy cooking. Last night I made a Bolognese sauce - which is the sort of standard stuff I do.

And although this sounds self-serving, my favorite cookbook is the the Gourmet Cookbook. I use it on an almost daily basis. The thing is, I know that those recipes work. My other default cookbooks are Marcella, Marion Cunningham's Breakfast Book (I made her yeast-raised waffles for breakfast this morning), and Elizabeth David.

Good Morning Ms Reichl,

Thank you!

I'm pretty much a home cook myself. I don't believe that homes should be like restaurants, and I don't attempt to do much cheffy cooking. Last night I made a Bolognese sauce - which is the sort of standard stuff I do.