• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

bone-in rib eye

annachan

Just got some great bone-in rib eye from Safeway yesterday (on sale for $4.99/lb) and want to get some help on cooking them. They're about an inch or so thick and about a lb each. My prefer method would be to cook them on stove top and finish them in the oven. I don't have a cast iron pan. I'll probably use my cooper bottom stainless steel pan.

So, I like to get some guidelines on:

What oil? Canola or olive?

How how should the pan be before I put the steak in it?

How long should I cook the steak on the first side? The second?

When do I put it in the oven? Temp? How long?

I'm really new at cooking steak at home, so I appreciate any advice you have. TIA :raz:

Just got some great bone-in rib eye from Safeway yesterday (on sale for $4.99/lb) and want to get some help on cooking them. They're about an inch or so thick and about a lb each. My prefer method would be to cook them on stove top and finish them in the oven. I don't have a cast iron pan. I'll probably use my cooper bottom stainless steel pan.

So, I like to get some guidelines on:

What oil? Canola or olive?

How how should the pan be before I put the steak in it?

How long should I cook the steak on the first side? The second?

When do I put it in the oven? Temp? How long?

I'm really new at cooking steak at home, so I appreciate any advice you have. TIA  :raz:

You can get a lot of opinions on the answers, but I'd suggest you invest in a cast iron pan if you plan on doing steaks regularly... they're not too expensive.

As to the oil, canola, as olive oil has a lower smoke point.

medium high ??? but watch hot spots...