• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Cheese Making

Woods

Hello, I live in Takoma Park and have started exploring cheese making (I'm an unemployed baker). Is anyone familiar with a place in metro DC where I could find cheese making supplies? There must be a way to support a local buisness without resorting to the web.

Thanks to all, Woods

Hello,  I live in Takoma Park and have started exploring cheese making (I'm an unemployed baker).  Is anyone familiar with a place in metro DC where I could find cheese making supplies?  There must be a way to support a local buisness without resorting to the web. 

Thanks to all,  Woods

Hi Woods,

I live in Takoma Park as well and I like to make my own cheese. I have looked locally for cheesemaking products and finally gave up. I tried our own co-op for vegetarian "rennet" as well as Trader Joe's and Rodman's. Apparently, Trader Joe's sells it on the West coast, but not over here. I ended up buying soursalt/citric acid at a kosher spice store in Flushing (my s.o. is from Queens so I am up there about once a month). I started mail ordering from cheesemaking.com for everything else.

I do buy my milk from the TPSS co-op. They don't have non-pasteurized, but they do have organic milk that is not ultra-pasteurized that they sell by the gallon. I spoke to a dairy vendor at the Farmer's market on Sunday about getting non-pasteurized milk. He told me that it is illegal to sell in Maryland, but not in Pennsylvania if you can make "arrangements" with local dairies.

Maybe someone else knows something that I don't...