• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

RCMP Depot food 'BAD'

cheekycook

Hi!

I'm a chef in Montreal, my boyfriend made the RCMP and has been stationed in Regina since May. He's in search of good local restaurants where he can get good food in comparison to the generic caf food he's stuck eating everyday.

There has to be some good Mom & Pop places worth checking out?

Any input would be greatly appreciated

A quick Google gave me these:

Heliotrope (2204 McIntyre, 569-3373)

Cathedral Village Free House (2062 Albert St)

New Japonica (2167 Hamilton St, 359-7669)

The Creek in Cathedral Bistro (3414-13th Ave, 352-4448

India House (806 Victoria Ave 585-8882)

I can vouch for Heliotrope-casual vegetarian restaurant in a heritage house.

I've also been to the Cathedral Creek Bistro which is fantastic.

I always have the spinach feta pizza at the Copper Kettle, mom and pop place downtown.

There's also a Vietnamese place downtown which is fine-can't recall the name.

There's a good Italian deli-again the name escapes me. Great sandwiches. It should be easy to find int he phone book.

Hope this gives you something to work with. Give us a full report! I'll e-mail my friends there to research what's new.

Zuke

"I used to be Snow White, but I drifted."

--Mae West

Zucchini Mama:

Certainly agree with your recommendation of the Creek in Cathedral Bistro. I had several meals there during my last visit to Regina and enjoyed speaking with the lady who owns it. It was my favourite.

The Cathedral Village Free House was a bustling, busy pub with the standard fare you would expect.