• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Burekas recipe?

When I graduated from high school, I traveled through Israel for about 6 weeks with most of my graduating class (about 30 of us). In the evenings, while touring or running from the kibbutz into Ashdod - it was common for everybody to grab a slice of pizza. Being lactose intolerant, I opted for a potato burekas. I loved the burekes.

Over the years, I've tried to recreate the burekas from memory. I make a couple of versions and we even sell them at work. For potato, I steam then mash the potatos and mix with a lot of caramelized onions, salt and black pepper. I also make a mushroom and onion version that's similar. For the dough I've always used puff pastry.

I know there is a Turkish version and a "Jewish" version. But does anybody know what the dough is that they use in Israel? Am I on the right road or should I be using phyllo (which is what I believe the Turkish ones are made with).

Are there any spices I should be using to give me an authentic flavour? Or is there nothing authentic about this and is it just an easier way to make what's quite similar to a knish?

Any thoughts or ideas?

- Pam

Try to get your hands on a copy of Olive Trees and Honey by Gil Marks. He has 3 recipes for boreka dough -- oil only, an oil and butter, and yogurt. He also has a bunch of fillings including potato. The book (which won a Beard award this year) is a compendium of recipes from Jewish communities around the world.

(I was recently given a copy of the book and I'm slowly working my way through it. It's a fascinating read. And the recipes I've tried have been a success)

Edited by bloviatrix (log)