• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Best Halibut Fish and Chips

Ann_T

I'm relatively new to Egullet and this is my first post to this forum. I have been reading the Vancouver threads for some time and would like to thank you all. Thanks to you we have been able to satisfy our craving for decent Montreal Smoked Meat and Pastrami. After eating at Kaplans 6 or 7 years ago we would never have gone back if I hadn't read the reviews here. Been back a number of times since. Had a wonderful breakfast last Saturday at Sebs and found some great places to shop like Cioffis on Hastings, and Winsor Meats. Now I'm looking forward to trying a hamburger at the Moderne Burger.

So now I am hoping you can help us again by recommending your favourite Halibut Fish and Chip restaurant. We have been looking for the best place to have Halibut fish and chips in the Vancouver area. We have tried a number of places but so far haven't found anywhere that meets the standards set by the Penrose Fish and Chip restaurant in Toronto. They have been in the business over 50 years.

We recently moved back to Vancouver from Nanaimo. The Mill Bay fish and chips (in Mill Bay) was the only place that came close. We use to drive there at least once every two or three weeks to satisfy our craving. Unfortunately it just isn't quite as easy now to get to Mill Bay when the craving hits.

TIA

Ann

Well, not Vancouver, but if you ever get out to Crescent Beach there is a great fish and chips place called The Fish Net. It's been there for years, and the fish and chips are amazing - the place has lines onto the street regularly.