• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

side dish ideas

nan

I'm usually a lurker, but enjoy everyone's expertise here. I hope this is an appropriate forum for this question...

I'm not very good with figuring out good menus, and am struggling with what to serve with tonight's main dish of choice.

It's Tilapia with a coconut, chive, and mint relish - see the recipe here.

Any ideas? I am trying to get back on track with eating more healthy, so nothing too extravagant. But we're all fairly adventurous eaters. I don't want to spend too long on it though as I'm also trying to get dinner on the table before my son's bedtime, which is usually a challenge. :) Anyway, I was thinking I should do something red or orange since the main dish is green and white.

I'd appreciate any ideas you all can provide! And I'll try to take reasonable pics and report back!

thanks!

nan

I was thinking of a rice side dish, too, but more along the rice and mint approach.

I also think that a grated mango salad (peanuts, lime, some more coconut, cilantro or mint, touch of fish sauce, maybe a shallot minced) would be swell and would fit with your quasi-southeast Asian theme.

Let us know what you choose!

Chris Amirault

eG Ethics Signatory

Sir Luscious got gator belts and patty melts

Thanks Bob & Chris!

I really like both ideas, but am leaning towards the mango salad - it sounds really different and would help use up some of the extra coconut and mint/cilantro... Chris, what kind of fish sauce would I look for? I'm normally a recipe type of girl, but am trying to break out of that... I know I've seen fish sauce before but want to make sure I pick up the right stuff.