• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Ras el Hanout

This topic is in regard to the mystery ingredient I suggested in Marlene and Sam's Foodblog.

I will preface this with I am not an expert in using this ingredient. I hope that my guru, Paula Wolfert will lend a hand in explaining the history of this spice and its traditional uses.

Chef Zadi, I am sure can also lend a hand in this.

Since moving to Israel, I have had the great fortune to have a wealth of spices to play with. There is a great spice shop, Front Brothers at Shouk HaCarmel, about 10 minutes from my home in Tel Aviv and a new spice shop called Spices that provides an endless choice of spices to cook with.

I recently went to Spices and bought Ras el Hanout and some other blends for kebabs and rice that I have already played with.

Ras el Hanout was one of them.

Ras el Hanout is a Morrocan spice that has a very interesting mix of spices. Refer to the recipe I entered in RecipeGullet.

Traditionally it is used in lamb tagine, rice and couscous stuffings, a particular type of candy and some bistiyya recipes. It is considered to be somewhat of an aphrodisiac.

There are also different blends of this spice mix, because different regions, different cooks have their own take on what spices should be used.

With that said, I have used it in my stuffed eggplant dish (ground beef & rice), chicken and fish dishes, and experimented using it in a tart I made with peaches and apricots. It was very good.

Has anyone else used it as a non-traditional ingredient. If so, how?

Edited by Swisskaese (log)