• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Bisteeya (aka pastilla, bastilla, bisteeya, b'stilla, bstilla )

Years ago, I saw a recipe for Bisteeya (bisteya, bastila, etc) - or Moroccan pigeon pie. The dish sounded wonderful, but I was intimidated by the recipe - it sounded labor intensive and I was a novice home cook.

Now that I am an older and braver (though not necessarily better) cook, I want to make bisteeya - obviously I will have to substitute something for the pigeon.

Any egulleteers willing to share a recipe and hopefully some photos?

Years ago, I saw a recipe for Bisteeya (bisteya, bastila, etc) - or Moroccan pigeon pie.  The dish sounded wonderful, but I was intimidated by the recipe - it sounded labor intensive and I was a novice home cook.

Now that I am an older and braver (though not necessarily better) cook, I want to make bisteeya - obviously I will have to substitute something for the pigeon.

Any egulleteers willing to share a recipe and hopefully some photos?

WEll, yes, it is labor intensive. Here's two recipes:

http://www.cliffordawright.com/recipes/bastila.html

http://www.paula-wolfert.com/recipes/bisteeya.html

gallery_8703_646_43480.jpg

gallery_8703_646_39585.jpg

The recipe on my website is for a wonderful fish bisteeya. The site below has my recipe for the chicken bisteeya. Nowadays, I use all chicken legs and thighs rather than whole chickens.

http://www.frigatezine.com/review/cooking/rco03de2.html

Edited by Richard Kilgore (log)

“C’est dans les vieux pots, qu’on fait la bonne soupe!”, or ‘it is in old pots that good soup is made’.