• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Looking for Sushi-Grade Fish: Etobicoke/Toronto :)

hi :)

I'm looking for sushi grade salmon, tuna belly and red snapper. I know this has probably been posted before, but I'm a highschool student and am clueless about wholesale ordering and the like. I was more wondering if there's anywhere in Etobicoke I could obtain it (probably not, i know, but worth a shot!!) or somewhere in downtown Toronto where I could find it easily and where the staff would be kind to a highschool kid who's interested in doing their own sashimi :)

Any help is appreciated! :)! :biggrin:

Hi happytechnogirl & welcome!

For downtown, St. Lawrence market would be a good place to go. I usually wait untill 2-3pm on Saturdays because the fish there starts going on sale, and they're still fresh! I've had no problems eating it raw on the same day. I don't recall seeing tuna belly though.

I'm sure someone else will have better suggestions too...

Hi happytechnogirl & welcome!

For downtown, St. Lawrence market would be a good place to go. I usually wait untill 2-3pm on Saturdays because the fish there starts going on sale, and they're still fresh! I've had no problems eating it raw on the same day. I don't recall seeing tuna belly though.

I'm sure someone else will have better suggestions too...

Taro's fish on Steeles/404 in the J-Town mall center.

Got toro, and all other sorts of sushi grade fish. Very good. Very very good.

Maybe the best in Toronto (though not the cheapest...)

Cheers

Mike

"Je préfère le vin d'ici à l'au-delà"

Francis Blanche