• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

"cocktailian" bars in Chicago?

BTR

Can anyone recommend some? I'm pretty new to the city's bar scene (22 and didn't really care about "real" drinks until recently), so I'd appreciate any recommendations.

Thanks.

Can anyone recommend some?  I'm pretty new to the city's bar scene (22 and didn't really care about "real" drinks until recently), so I'd appreciate any recommendations.

Thanks.

As a Chicagoan I was hoping somebody would respond to your post. Most of the places I go I'm a little gunshy when it comes to ordering cocktails other than a Martini. Either they're shot'n'beer joints or restaurants where I don't have a chance to talk to the bartender. Also, I don't spend much time in the ritzier joints downtown where, I imagine, ordering a Sidecar won't get you a blank stare.

Anyhoo, if you have a chance, the only place I am confident the barstaff can make you just about anything you might want is The Matchbox. It's a teeny, tiny joint a little North and a little West of downtown. I don't get there often enough.

Oh, there's always the Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the Hancock Bldg. A touch pricey but considering the size of the drinks and the view it isn't any more expensive than joints far closer to street level.

Here's a link to those two and three others I haven't tried.

Kurt

“I like to keep a bottle of stimulant handy in case I see a snake--which I also keep handy.” ~W.C. Fields

The Handy Snake

Can you clarify what you mean by 'real' drinks? are we talking Gibsons & Rob Roys or Apple Martini-types?