• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Kerala/Tamil Nadu travel tips

Saborosa

Hi

We'll be in Kerala and Tamil Nadu in December from 5-26th. The only definite stop so far is Kochi where we'll be flying in and out, but will stop, too.

I'm interested in doing a cooking class or course while I'm there - any suggestions?

Also any other eating and drinking tips gratefully received. It's my first time in India so no info will be too basic for me!

I'm based in Barcelona, Spain, so would be happy to reciprocate with tips for anyone visiting Barcelona or elsewhere in Spain, if I can.

Thanks everybody

Hi

We'll be in Kerala and Tamil Nadu in December from 5-26th. The only definite stop so far is Kochi where we'll be flying in and out, but will stop, too.

I'm interested in doing a cooking class or course while I'm there - any suggestions?

Also any other eating and drinking tips gratefully received. It's my first time in India so no info will be too basic for me!

I'm based in Barcelona, Spain, so would be happy to reciprocate with tips for anyone visiting Barcelona or elsewhere in Spain, if I can.

Thanks everybody

Saborosa:

Welcome to my home state Kerala. I hope you enjoy your stay at Kochi. Hotel Taj Residency has a couple of nice restaurants. One of them serves traditional Kerala fare. Hotel La Meridian has a good seafood restaurant. If you have time, please do go on a boat trip. It is simply fabulous.

In Tamil Nadu if you are in Madras (Chennai), try Dakshin - it serves traditional food from all four south Indian states. If you have time check out Grand Sweets - for authentic Tami Nadu sweets and snacks. I believe it is in Adayar.

Ammini