• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Cookware Stores in Vancouver

Does anyone know where I can find a good quality, basic set of cookware (perhaps 8 pcs?) I'm looking for something that can last me for a few years, and I'm just a beginner hobby cook so I don't need anything that fancy. I'm hoping to spend under $300. The Bay had Circulon sets for 50% off yesterday, and I think they are selling the T-Fals with the red dot for 70% off starting today. Are these brands worth considering?

(btw: I made my first major cooking investment today--I bought a Global G2 Chef's knife! :biggrin: )

Motiv on Granville, owned by Ming Wo brings in discontinued Calphalon and blows it out during the Christmas shopping season. I got two great pieces left over from the sale. My advise is to buy one piece at a time. I have mixed and matched together some All-Clad, Calphalon, Cuisinart and le Cruset over the years. It seems eclectic, but is actually very much more functional.

I need non stick for eggs, but you can't use non stick if you are making a pan sauce because the fond does not develop aunless it sticks to the pan. I need cast iron for braising and aluminum for blanching. It also has to look good. I am very vain.

BTW copper looks very serious, but is a pain in the ass to keep clean. Stainless Steel is easy to keep clean but doesn't conduct heat well. So some type of composite works the best.

David Cooper

"I'm no friggin genius". Rob Dibble

http://www.starlinebyirion.com/