• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

SF Visit Inquiry

mascarpone

I am going to be in San Francisco to perform a violin recital in July and I was told that there was a great Thai restaurant on Market not far from Safeway. Any leads...details? Does anyone know the name of this place or its location? Any other great Thai or Southeast Asian?

mascarpone

NYC

I am not a Thai expert, but I thought that this place was pretty good.

Marnee Thai

• Neighborhood: Sunset District

• Phone: 415.665.9500

There are two locations. Both in the Sunset District which is near Golden Gate park.

If you like sushi, there is the no name sushi place that is not far from the Safeway

off of Market.

It is at 15th and Church. or is it 14th. Sorry. I don't live in the Bay Area so I am not positive

about locations.

If you like sushi, there is the no name sushi place that is not far from the Safeway off of Market.

I also find that Sushi Zone on Pearl at Market (not far from that Safeway), is very good.

I asked some friends about the Thai place of which you speak, but no one has piped up.

Not sure if its close to where you are going, but King of Thai Noodle House was a solid and inexpensive Thai restaurant when I was last out there, and I have several friends that live in the area that eat there several times a month. I recall their Beef Pad Kaprow with Fried Egg over rice was particularly good, as was their Pad Thai. Limited menu, with basically only noodle and rice plate dishes but still excellent.

I think they have 2 locations.

King of Thai Noodles

639 Clement Street at 7th Avenue

415-752-5198

http://kingofthainoodl.citysearch.com/