• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

a week in the north in late july

reesek

hello spain and portugal

i need some help. i am spending a week in spain in late july. i studied in sevilla for a year in college, and traveled the south with friends. i've also been to salamanca, madrid and barcelona, but have yet to explore the north. i know that having only a week is a handicap as the regions are fairly large and seem to be not that directly accessible to one another - at least by train.

i'm wondering if anyone can give some advice on where we should spend the bulk of our time - we'd thought we might take advantage of a rail/car pass offered through the spanish rail system and try to see 2 or 3 main spots. asturias seemed dramatic in the few photos i've seen and we've always wanted to go to santiago...san sebastian too...but i'm sensing that unless we spend all our time traveling - we should pare down the sites.

food and wine are critically important to me - less so to my friend. i've been a vegetarian for years, but i will certainly eat salchichon and jamon serrano - i've always said that spaniards consider ham to be a fruit - and we want to immerse ourselves. are there regional specialties that are not to be missed? festivals at that time of year we should not miss/should avoid?

we both speak castellano (she's a spanish teacher, so she's better than i am) but i'm confident i'll pick it back up. do northerners speak castellano in addition to regional languages like they do in barcelona? what can we expect from locals? in sevilla everyone was very nice - in barcelona i thought they were a little cooler. are there pensiones all over the north?