• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Seasonal Fruit Tarts that hold their shape

chocklateer

cool: Hello fellow passionate pastry pals! I am a newbie to the gullet or atleast to 'posting'. I have been perusing and learning and 'hmmm'ing over others' postings for the past month or so. Thankyou all for some great tips and recipes!

I am hoping someone can help me out with a challenge I am having at work. I am in need of ideas/suggestions /recipes for a seasonal fruit tart that will hold it's shape when baked, portioned and reheated for service.

Last year, at the restaurant where I work, we did individual tart(lets): seasonal fruit tossed with cornstarch, sugar, zest, baked in a pie dough shell and topped with a streusal. They held up well and tasted great. Customers loved them. However, the restaurant has changed its concept just recently and in the dessert department that translates to whole pies/cakes/desserts portioned. I've been doing a seasonal fruit crostada/torta(free form tart) using puff pastry(scraps) and the fruit/cornstarch/sugar/zest combo topped with streusal. Sometimes I cook the fruit out a little before baking sometimes I just toss the mixture and bake it as is. However, the presentation/portion size is inconsistant as some fruit mixtures spread out more/are more juicy. Thus, the chef has asked me to come up with a Fruit Tart that holds its shape, isn't juicy and doesn't have fruit falling out of it.