• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

World's best cookbooks

Bickery

Hey Everyone! I'm kinda new to all this, so excuse any violation of mores.
Searching google for anything on Mr. Steingarten on the web led me to
this forum. It appears te me that most of you are food professionals or
nearly that, while i'm just a 21-yr old student who likes to cook.

I own both Jeffries books, and i've started putting together a list of
all the books he sort of recommends in his writing. Thus came an idea
for this forum, wouldn't it be fun to concoct a list of say 50
cookbooks from the world over? I everybody, and hopefully mr
Steingarten along with them, would contribute his or hers favourote
books, this could be very interesting.

Due to my limited library on the subject (most cookbooks i've read are
mom's) i shall begin by contributing my current favourite.

I shall put it in last place, because i'm sure a lot of you will have
thing to say on the subject.

so:

50. La cucina essentiale - Stefano Cavallini

I hope a lot of suggestions will follow!

Yours Truly,

Rik

(Host's Note: Thanks to eG member marmish, who has compiled a list of everything mentioned as of the end of July 2009: it can be found here. -CH)

• Like 1

If you want to understand the science of cooking (which is better than it sounds - once you understand how it works you can play around and be creative), then try Harold McGee's On Food and Cooking

Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.