• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Iron Chef: The original Japanese incarnation

arjay

This is running on the Challenge cable channel in the UK at the moment 7.30 pm every night. I find it absolutely rivetting. The techniques and dishes produced are so unusual and its strange blend of high camp and intensity makes it unmissable. better than the US version I think.

I am a huge Iron Chef fan. I disagree that it's over-dramatic, and I disagree that it's only "semi" addictive! :)

I even have a T-Shirt.

ironfans.com is a cool website for fans, with a very interesting FAQ.

Since arjay's original post seemed like flamebait, I'll change the subject:

Michiba is the best Iron Chef. Agree or disagree?

Don Moore

Nashville, TN

Peace on Earth

I like Iron Chef (check out my little quote thingy), but have seen the repeat episodes too many times to be as engaged as I was a few years ago. I have the FN's sanctioned Iron Chef book, and it's pretty lame.

My fave chef is Sakai, and I love Kaga and his wardrobe.

Chef Sakai is cool. He's my favorite, especially with his presentations.

Edited by arjay (log)

Martinis don't come from vodka and bacon don't come from turkeys!

I love the dubbing and the commentary about the cooking. The voices they use are really funny. Ply me with enough drinks I'll start imitating the tasters.

"Some people see a sheet of seaweed and want to be wrapped in it. I want to see it around a piece of fish."-- William Grimes

"People are bastard-coated bastards, with bastard filling." - Dr. Cox on Scrubs