• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

First Time Grinder

birder53

I purchased a Bosch grinder at Trader Joe's. I've never done this before :shock: (ground coffee at home, that is)and expected the instructions that came with the grinder to explain it all to me. The only time I've ground my own coffee is using the grinders at the store where you just pick the grind you want and voila! Well, how do you know how much to grind your coffee when using a grinder with no settings? How many beans do you grind to make 8 cups of drip coffee? Did I make a bad purchase here or do I just have to learn how to use this by trial and error? I really don't want to wait very long for my morning coffee while I fiddle with my new toy. Does anyone else have one of these and can you give me some tips here?

KathyM

I purchased a Bosch grinder at Trader Joe's.  ...  Did I make a bad purchase here or do I just have to learn how to use this by trial and error?  I really don't want to wait very long for my morning coffee while I fiddle with my new toy.

I'm not familiar with that particular grinder. Do you know whether it uses blades to chop of the coffee, or a mill to grind the coffee. I have never seen a mill with no adjusment dials so I'm thinking you may have a chopper.

If it is a chopper, see if Trader Joe will give you a refund. The goal in milling coffee is to achieve a consistent particle size. A chopper is anything but consistent. Like Goldilocks, you will find some of the coffee ground to fine (will be over extracted), some will be ground to coarse (underextracted) and some will be just right.