• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Freezing Doughs

yslee

Hello,

I'm a frequent home baker but new to breadmaking. I've been baking my way through Reinhart's Bread Baker's Apprentice with results that range from fair to excellent. However, I find the yields too large. Since I don't like previously-frozen bread for anything but toast (and I have tons of croutons, bread crumbs, etc), can anyone recommend a reliable way of freezing the dough? After the first rise? Fully proofed? Part-baked, a la supermarket baguettes?

Thanks.

I beg to differ - freezing will absolutely not kill the yeast. Just look at all the thaw-and-bake products available to both the home baker and professional, anything from croissants to pizza dough. I store my fresh yeast in the freezer for extended periods with no problem.

You can freeze shaped loaves before they rise, defrost as needed overnight in the fridge, proof, then bake.

I've also cooked frozen bread dough with good results. One caveat00make sure the bread is fully defrosted before you cook it; otherwise you'll wind up with a gummy interior and dried outside. Also, I was taught that if you're making a laminated dough (e.g. croissant or Danish), use 25% more yeast than you would if you were making it fresh.

I love Peter Reinhart's books so much that I feel like they completely changed my life--or at least the way I look at bread! Yesterday, I made some plain white loaves to go with dinner, and because the kitchen was so warm, the rise was shorter than it should have been. Everyone else liked the bread, but I felt it wasn't as good as it should have been because of the rapid rise.