• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Taking Compliments

ianeccleston

Does anyone have trouble taking compliments when they cook for other people? I'm an avid home cook, and throw a lot of dinner parties. I'm known as the cook in our circle, but I still tend to blush when given a compliment about the food: I'm usually a little overly critical about the food that I served (e.g. it could have used a little more vinegar), think that they are just being polite, or a combination of the two.

It's not that I'm insecure about the meal - because generally it turns out OK to my tastes and I'm egotistical enough to invite just about anybody over to our house so I can feed them - I just tend to be awkward about the compliments. On the other hand, I'm not one to constantly apologize about the food being served, remembering Julia Child admonishing home cooks to "never apologize." There are of course those meals where everything turns out great, everyone has a good time, and I have nothing to complain about.

I recently told my wife that I didn't want her to tell all of our dinner guests that I've been "cooking all day" - I don't want to fish for compliments, and I don't want our guests to feel beholden for the meal that I want them to enjoy.

OK - this is turning into more of a confessional/psychoanalysis of me cooking than I'd like it to be, so I'll ask y'all the question: Do any of you have trouble taking compliments, are nervous to the point of constant apology, dislike or distrust polite compliments, or have witnessed this when dining at other people's homes? Any other comments?

Ian

Edited by ianeccleston (log)