• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

women with wine-related careers...

Hi Jancis,

I'm a fellow wine writer (female), I've been studying/writing about wine for a couple of years so I'm a relative newcomer. But I love it and plan to make a serious 'go' to develop my expertise and a niche.

However I'm also of an age where I have to make some critical decisions about when to start a family - sooner than later - which would of course mean scaling back for a year or more any sipping, spitting and swallowing. I'm American so perhaps a bit too alarmist about alcohol consumption during pregnancy & breastfeeding but my feeling is, why take chances? At the same time I don't want to lose momentum in my career, so it's a real dilemma. Frankly I'm afraid that if I stop drinking, I'll fall way behind because tasting, tasting, tasting is really the only way I will learn. Even if I stick to sipping, some always slips down the throat...and I sometimes sip a lot more in a day than the average person drinks in a week.

If it's not too personal a question, how did you handle this? Any/all advice, suggestions, etc. would be most welcome. Thanks for your insight !

I'd be the last person positively to encourage anyone to drink during pregnancy but I really do think the chances of causing fetal damage from the effects of wine tasting, as opposed to wine drinking, are practically nil. Remember that a lot of the scariest research was conducted on women who were so addicted they were practically in an alcoholic coma when they gave birth.