• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Help! Dinner in Orange County?

Mrs. Meadow

I'll be in Anaheim next month for a trade show:

NPEW

and I'm organizing dinner for 12. We don't want to drive in to LA proper so that leaves out much of what I've seen on the California board.

A friend looked through Zagat's and found a bunch of stuff for Newport:

Aubergine

Bayside

Bistro 201

Renato's on the beach

Sage

What about Huntington Beach? Anything good there?? Any and all help much appreciated!

Dear Mrs. Meadow:

Sorry I wasn't able to reply sooner; I'm new to eGullet, and still finding my way around.

If you were willing to travel as far as Long Beach, I could recommend places like 555 East (a steakhouse with private rooms) or King's Fish House, both owned by the Kings Seafood Co. (www.555east.com and www.kingsfishouse.com, respectively). King's Fish House also has a branch in Orange.

Also high on the list would be Christy's for Italian (www.christysristorante.com) and Nico's for new American (www.nicosrestaurant.com), both owned by Christy Bono, the late Congressman's daughter, or Lasher's (562-422-1253) for more comfort-food American (sadly lacking a website).

However, I'm going to assume you would like to stay close to Newport Beach. All of the restaurants you have listed have fine reputations.