• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Greetings From Frozen North Dakota

I'm a semi serious home cook, preferring simple dishes in the old Nordic style I've been around.  A lot of quick, minamalist food fried in butter, lard, beef fat, and of course a little olive oil, and a lot of this also coming from working in construction many years and wanting something good, but quick after a long day.  A do enjoy a little oven work, foundant being an absolute favorite, roast chicken parts like how my grandmother did it, and making a good stew here and there. 

I have Celiac disease, and cannot have anything with gluten, which has made trying new recipes a nightmare, and gradually made the horizon far shorter.  It has helped corral me into my simple dish habits, and has discouraged me to some extent over the years.  I finally figured that reaching out is probably the better way forward, rather than simply falling back on what I already know.

I've also gotten into deep frying as of late, which has been an interesting challenge in its own right.  After encountering a few challenges, I finally figured it was the right time to join a forum and start getting back into learning. 

Thanks for letting me in!

• Like 7

Welcome! As noted, there are a lot of folks here who cook to accommodate celiac disease. I am lucky enough not to be one, but I'm sure you'll get good guidance. I also probably won't be of much help in the frying department, although I've been learning about how to do it better. 🙂