• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Duck Egg Yolks - Quick Question...

TicTac

I was given a dozen duck eggs from a friend who recently started a farm.

While I have had duck eggs in the past, I have limited experience cooking with them and could not recall the last time I did.

I went to crack 8 of them just now and nearly all of them had yolks that were essentially malleable, they were so thick and dense!!

Is this normal?!

As a duck mom yeas ago I can share that they are thick/dense. May vary by diet. Silly question perhaps, but did you ask your friend? 

• Thanks 1

15 minutes ago, heidih said:

As a duck mom yeas ago I can share that they are thick/dense. May vary by diet. Silly question perhaps, but did you ask your friend? 

Could not get a hold of her.  But I asked another relative that gets eggs from her as well and he said he has had similar experiences.

With the limited reading I did in the last 30 minutes, it seems it is normal for free range ducks who eat lots of high quality bugs and other proteins (which I know these buggers do) to have very thick yolks. 

They were delicious, rich and very 'eggy'.

• Like 1

18 hours ago, TicTac said:

I was given a dozen duck eggs from a friend who recently started a farm.

While I have had duck eggs in the past, I have limited experience cooking with them and could not recall the last time I did.

I went to crack 8 of them just now and nearly all of them had yolks that were essentially malleable, they were so thick and dense!!

Is this normal?!

Yes. And they make the most marvelous custards you ever tasted.

• Thanks 1

Don't ask. Eat it.

www.kayatthekeyboard.wordpress.com