• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

FeChef

Need ideas: Rabbit for Easter

Posted (edited)

Local Grocery just started selling whole Rabbit(frozen). I never tried, nor seen it being sold at a chain grocery store before. So naturally i had to buy it. Figured what better time to try Bunny then Easter. But i have no clue how to prepare it. It came frozen no head,no feet, and no skin.

Thanks.

Edited by Smithy Corrected title spelling (log)

I am no expert on rabbit, but I can tell you that it is extremely lean and easy to overcook.  That said, I find it delicious!  

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Rabbit is a favorite of mine although I seldom encounter it.    It is a delicate, mild meat.    I used to just moosh  legs in salt, pepper and evoo, then grill to barely cooked through. 

Two of the finest restaurant dishes I've ever had were rabbit.   One at Delfina in SF and one by Eric Frechon in Paris.   Both were braises, and both were Italian influenced.    Here is one idea.

I would add that at each restaurant, I snagged the last portion which probably means it was prepared the day before.   This is one of those dishes that might well improve with a day of rest.

eGullet member #80.

Posted (edited)

If i go the braise route, because it is a lean meat, could it benefit to use a Instant pot vs a tradtional dutch oven? Also, because i will probably have the oven full of other dishes.

Edited by FeChef (log)

May I suggest a Catalan preparation ?