• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

I need recommendations for including raspberries in a cake

Matthew.Taylor

Ok, my parents 40th anniversary is a week from Saturday. They’ve requested A cake from me, they’re only requests was raspberries. Now i’m gonna be working on French pastry cream this weekend, and I was thinking of mixing a purée of raspberries in it to use as filling. How does this sound, and what would be good ratios?

Edited by Smithy
Adjusted title for clarity (log)

I'm no expert on French pastry cream, but if you're interested in adding powerful raspberry flavor minus the weight of a puree...raspberry powder made from freeze dried raspberries works wonders.  HTH.

• Like 2

-Andrea

A 'balanced diet' means chocolate in BOTH hands. :biggrin:

Mix a little of the raspberries with a little pastry cream to mage sure it doesn’t turn a weird color. Some berries plus egg yolks can turn an unappetizing purple-gray. Separate layers of jam and pastry cream might be prettier. 

Edited by pastrygirl (log)
  • Like 3

Use fresh raspberries instead of a puree; you can split them and put them cut side up then spread the pastry cream over them as a cake filling.  Use a dam of buttercream around the edge, then place the berries, then spread the cream over.  You might want to use a little bit of gelatin if your pastry cream is very loose so that when  you cut slices, the cream doesn't slide out all over. By contrast if your cream is very stiff you can add some softly whipped cream to it to lighten it up a little.

• Like 1