• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Good morning from snowy Madison WI!

BryanQuocLe

Hello all! My name is Bryan, thank you for allowing me to join. I'm very excited to explore the world of food in more detail.

I'm originally from California but am now a transplant to Wisconsin. The winter is still an adjustment, even after 3+ years living here (has it really been that long?!)

I'm currently studying food science at UW-Madison after making a tiny leap from studying straight chemistry for many years - I realized that I had a big passion for food after I met my wife and we started exploring in the kitchen together.

I stumbled on eGullet after procrastinating on my work and getting fixated on the homemade soy sauce thread. I have a particular fondness for soy sauce fermentation and was amazed to see people actually giving it a shot at home. This is a real adventurous bunch!

On the side, I do a little consulting with small food businesses and would be happy to lend a technical hand anywhere I can. I also do some food science writing for fun, with a particular interest and love for all things involving flavors, fermentation, and chemistry. I also have strong opinions about soy and fish sauces 😉.

Thanks again, and looking forward to exploring and contributing!

• Like 8

Bryan Quoc Le

Graduate Student | Food Science | Madison, WI

Editor & Writer | Science Meets Food | Personal Website