• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Beef for stir fry

TdeV

I'm no expert and I don't make a lot of stir fries but from what I've observed it seems many use flank steak.

I don't know about the marinades but here's one that I understand is good with flank:

Beef Marinade

1 cup soy sauce, low-sodium soy sauce     

• 6 tablespoons sherry or cooking sherry

• 2 tablespoons cornstarch

• 4 tablespoons brown sugar

• 1 tablespoon ginger, peeled and minced fresh

• Like 1

Chinese cuts don't correspond to American, French or British cuts, so it's difficult for me to say. In fact, Chinese cuts don't correspond with those of the the next butcher along. It all seems very random.

For stir fried dishes, which I make often, I tend to mainly select beef with a clearly visible grain. Certainly, sirloin works. Flank is known as skirt steak in the UK, but I've never used that for stir fries, so cannot comment.

Marinades tend to be used more for flavour rather than to tenderise. They usually consist of soy sauce and rice wine.

2 hours ago, lindag said:

Beef Marinade

1 cup soy sauce, low-sodium soy sauce     

• 6 tablespoons sherry or cooking sherry

• 2 tablespoons cornstarch

• 4 tablespoons brown sugar

• 1 tablespoon ginger, peeled and minced fresh

That is a huge amount of marinade (and a humongous amount of sugar). You could do a whole cow with that! Ingredients for Chinese stir fries tend to be measured in teaspoons.

Edited by liuzhou (log)
  • Like 1

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

3 minutes ago, liuzhou said: