• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Help with Olive Oil Ganache

mebinsf

I've been wanting to try an olive oil ganache for some time. I have recently partnered with an olive oil store and I want to create a few different bon bons featuring her different oils.

I've never used olive oil with chocolate before. I can't even find a recipe for an olive oil ganache.

Do you replace the dairy with the oil? Is the texture super soft since oil is liquid at room temp? Would I need to add cocoa butter to deal with any textural issues?

Does someone have a basic recipe or technique that they'd care to share? I generally do quite a bit of research on techniques etc when I'm creating new flavors/products, but this one seems a bit difficult to find info.

Thanks for any info anyone can provide.

I haven't made one either, but my first approach would be to use olive oil plus water to replace the cream.   Heavy cream is 40% fat, so I would see how 40g oil plus 60g water acts instead of 100g cream in a known recipe and go from there. 

I had picked up a formula at an after-hours session at WPF years ago, and cannot find it. IIRC, it had some cream, I recall being disappointed because I was trying to please a vegan client at the time. My guess is that a little cream is helpful, as long as the temperature is kept low (under 135°) cream has some emulsification properties.

HERE's a recipe, but, it's very vague about the type of chocolate and it is for a liquid ganache. No word on if the chocolate was kept in temper or not, something of regular debate with old-school ganache making.