• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Chefs who cook in remote areas?

chef koo

What's life like? How did you get your job?

I've been a chef for a while now and I'm looking to work in a remote camp (oil, mining, off shore, ect), but I've heard a lot of stories and I'd like to get the straight dope on the situation.

Edited by chef koo (log)

bork bork bork

I'm not a chef, but I've traveled for a week on a tow boat as a passenger and eaten the food. My husband and I were stewarding a yacht for a dentist friend who wanted to move his boat from Biloxi, MS up the river to a berth at my FIL's marina in Memphis, TN. It was cheaper to pay for a tow, hitching a ride with the tow boat which travels 24/7 than it was to pay for fuel and motor the boat upriver under it's own power. My first husband was a merchant marine with a tankerman's license. That allows one to on- and offload hazardous cargoes like crude and refined petroleum.