• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

My First Pop Up Restaurant w/pics!

nonkeyman

I recently did a pop up restaurant for 80 people I didn't know. Below are the pictures from the event. I also put a small bit of my speech before the menu went out...

Let me know what you think!

Here is an abridged version of my speech..

"When I graduated high school, I did a similar dinner for 8 people. I just graduated college and now I am doing a dinner for 80"

I paused...

"I guess when I get my PhD, I will have to do a dinner for 800"

I believe I got a sympathetic laugh out of the quick "jokish".

"The menu I prepared has a little bit from everywhere I have been, it has memories from school and memories from restaurants.The first course came from an organic chemistry class. I learned about the concept of chirality(I won't go into the details :)..unless you want me too.I am sure there are plenty of people on this forum much smarter than me who can actually explain this beyond my limited scope).

The second course is because I love pasta and I love soup. They go great on any menu and most people love soup! The brodo comes from Cafe Juanita, where I learned about this funky liquid. It somehow tastes good and smells funky at the same time. Combined with the nutty flavor you get from caramelized cauliflower and the brightness from the fennel salad. It just wakes up the mouth.