• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Two Sous Vide Gadgets

rotuts

I guess I cheat. I heat the water in my SV pot on the stove, using my 16K BTU burner, to just under my target temperature. I put my choice of meat in the bags and seal them while the pot is on the stove.

I am not adverse to technology (I'm a retired electronics engineer) but I never use the Smartphone App to control my Anova. The wheel and button work just fine for me.

Side note: I received an email from Anova linking to some recipes. I thought the idea of SV Scalloped Potatoes sounded interesting ... until I saw that you SV the potatoes, then assemble the dish and put it into the oven.

• Like 4

Porthos Potwatcher
The Once and Future Cook

;

I pointed out the article as I though it did a good job of pointing out the strengths and weakness of each product.

neither one is perfect , but each would be all you need to get cooking.

• Like 2

29 minutes ago, rotuts said:

I pointed out the article as I though it did a good job of pointing out the strengths and weakness of each product.

neither one is perfect , but each would be all you need to get cooking.

Thank you.  I still don't understand why  so many people seem reluctant to start out with hot water!  I am sure there are times when hot water is perhaps not readily available but it certainly is in most home kitchens at least in this hemisphere.  My point being that the speed of bringing water to the required temperature is neither a plus nor a minus when comparing units intended for home use. Unless of course you are trying to heat your evening bath water. 

• Like 5

Anna Nielsen aka "Anna N"