• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

New member in Chicago

Hi All,

My name is Jim Loellbach.  I've been a chef in Chicago for about 12 years, been lucky to have worked in some great places here: Four Season Hotel, the Pump Room Restaurant, and C Chicago restaurant.  I've been a butcher, line cook, banquet chef, sous chef, and pastry chef.  Before that i was an engineer (aerospace), so I like to use my techie background in the kitchen (not modernist stuff, just home-brewed equipment).  Recently I decided I'd given enough of my life to the restaurant world and have started my own business.  I set it up initially as a personal/private chef business, but I'm now leaning heavily toward an artisinal chocolate shop. 

My personal cooking runs the gamut in terms of cuisines, but my style is relaxed and rustic.  I love making charcuterie at home, fermenting (pickles, beer, cider), and working with chocolate.  I'm giving a class on chocolate this Tuesday at a community cooking school. 

I've visited these forums for a few years now and am happy to start interacting with all of you.

• Like 5

Welcome. You sound like our kind of being!  

Anna Nielsen aka "Anna N"

...I just let people know about something I made for supper that they might enjoy, too. That's all it is. (Nigel Slater)

"Cooking is about doing the best with what you have . . . and succeeding." John Thorne

Our 2012 (Kerry Beal and me) Blog

My 2004 eG Blog

Hello Jim and welcome to eG.  You are way out of my class and I know I'll appreciate reading your posts. 

I like working with chocolate but purely as a chocolate lover (dark chocolate, of course). 

Darienne

learn, learn, learn...