• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Hello

rustwood

Hello,

After a 20 year hiatus, my interest in cooking has been rekindled over the past few years. 

I worked in several pizza/sandwich shops during high school and college so after I graduated I ended up making pizza and/or bread at home almost every week (one of my old bosses used to sell me buckets of high gluten flour).  Around the same time I became friendly with the proprietor of a Thai restaurant who showed me how to make several of my favorite dishes.  We then bought some Thai cookbooks and started making Thai food at home.  One of those cookbooks, Thai Home Cooking from Kamolmal's Kitchen, is easily the most dog-eared, water damaged, food-stained book we own.  I don’t know how it compares to what is available now, but we loved it and made dishes from it 2-3 times a week for years. That trailed off as it got less convenient to pick up ingredients and as I got busy with other things. Eventually I stopped actively participating in the kitchen - until dietary changes and restrictions caused us to take separate culinary paths (only culinary).  We probably haven't made any of those Thai dishes for at least 15 years now, maybe 20.